Team BC Crowned Travelers Canadian Champions


Congratulations to Vic Shimizu, Cody Tanaka, Trevor Bakken and Mark Yodogawa for winning the gold medal at the 2018 Canadian Travelers Club Championship!  The national event was held November 19th-24th in Miramichi, New Brunswick.  Our Richmond team, representing British Columbia, went 6-0 in the round robin play.  They finished first in their pool which gave them the bye into the semi-final where they went on to beat Ontario 5-3.  From there they went on to the gold medal game defeating Nova Scotia with a commanding score of 8-3.

The teams’ record was 8-0 for the week making them the only team in both the women’s and men’s events to go undefeated!  On top of that, Cody Tanaka, who throws last rocks on the team while Vic Shimizu calls the game, was named MVP of the event.

The team won the BC title back in April by winning the BC competition side of the Pacific International Cup held at our club annually.  They also won the PIC final beating the International side winner and becoming the overall 2018 PIC champions.  This is the second year in a row that BC has won the Canadian title at the Travelers on the men’s side (last year, Bart Sawyer’s rink from Nanaimo won), but this is the first time the overall PIC champion has been crowned Canadian champion!  We are proud of these long-standing members of Richmond and we are looking forward to hanging up their Canadian banner in our rafters!




This entry was posted in Events, Featured. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

  • Member News

Vancouver Website Hosting and Website Design provided by Port 80 Solutions